Hastings Historical Plaques
Categories
Search:  
Road Trip #1 - Villages of Centre Hastings (7)  Road Trip #4 The Treasures of North Hastings (6)  Road Trip #7 Rural Belleville and Trenton (6) 
Road Trip #2 Pioneer Days in the Madoc area (5)  Road Trip #5 Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte (5)   
Road Trip #3 The Mining Towns of Centre Hastings (5)  Road Trip #6 Treasures of Tyendinaga (5)   
Go Back

BANCROFT HOTEL

PLAQUE TEXT

In 1853, following the surveying of the Hastings Colonization Road, the Clark family were the first Europeans to settle here, along the banks of the York River. They were soon followed by James Cleak and Alfred Barker. A post office was established in 1861 and the settlement became Bancroft in 1879. This site, known simply as "Hotel Corner", has long been the home of the "Bancroft Hotel and the centre of the community's social and business activity. The hotel was destroyed in a major 1914 fire and was rebuilt immediately. The hotel remains an iconic structure for visitors and residents alike.

Erected July 14, 2018 by the Hastings County Historical Society

GPS co-ordinates: 45º 03' 22.44" N 77º 51' 11.90'" W (45.0561111 77.8750000)

Street address: 4 Bridge Street West at Hastings Street, Bancroft, Ontario

The plaque is located on the outside wall of the hotel on the front patio. The Bancroft Hotel building is currently (2019) known as the Bancroft Brew Pub.

Photo: Original hotel before 1914 fire.

Old Bancroft Hotel


BANCROFT HOTEL
Information Last Updated: Friday June 19, 2020