Historical Plaques by REGION
Click the pins on the map below to discover the plaques in your local area and beyond. Discover the history of your own community!
In 1853 Billa Flint (1805-94), a lumberman, member of the legislative assembly and later of the senate, built sawmills here on the Skootamatta River.... READ MORE
In 1857, ten years before Confederation, William Fraser Chisholm (1829-1908) acquired Shipman's Mill on the Moira River.... READ MORE
From its beginning the Village of Deloro was a "company town" reliant on mining and refining. Today it is the site of a major environmental clean...
Henry Gauen was trapped in the Arctic ice for two years on the Investigator as the McClure expedition searched for the Franklin Expedition.... READ MORE
Deputy minister of the Ontario Department of Mines for twenty-two years, "Rick" Rickaby was respected for his contributions to science and the mi...
The viral disease of smallpox - widespread in 19th century Ontario - flared up in a severe epidemic in Hungerford Township in 1884.... READ MORE
The only chaplain in World War II to receive the Victoria Cross, John Weir Foote was born and raised in Madoc. ... READ MORE
Water-powered mills were a vital necessity in the lives of pioneering settlements.... READ MORE
With war threatening n Europe in 1913, a cadet corps was formed in Madoc from the student body of the high school.... READ MORE
Mills constructed about 1832 by Donald MacKenzie, a Belleville merchant, and the ironworks erected by American entrepreneurs Uriah Seymour and John Pendergas...
In 1821 an Irish immigrant, Charles Hayes, began building here one of the province's earliest smelters and foundries, which by June, 1823, was ready to p...
A prolific and accomplished playwright, Denison was born in Detroit and raised in Ontario.... READ MORE
Marmora is Upper Canada's first pioneer irontown, established in 1821. The iron ore works gave life to mines in Blairton, Belmont and Ma...
In August, 1866, Marcus Herbert Powell, Clerk of the Division Court and part-time prospector, struck gold on the farm of John Richardson....
The Thomasburg Spring provided fresh, cool water for generations of thirsty travellers and their horses.... READ MORE
The bell was donated by the Epworth League in 1892 after the original bell was destroyed in a church fire.
... READ MORE