Hastings Historical Plaques

Directory Test Page, please ignore. Thank you

Categories
Search:  
Architecture (10)  Literary (9)  Road Trip #2 Pioneer Days in the Madoc area (5) 
Belleville (50)  Military (10)  Road Trip #3 The Mining Towns of Centre Hastings (5) 
Central Hastings (17)  Mohawk/Tyendinaga (6)  Road Trip #4 The Treasures of North Hastings (6) 
Churches (1)  Northern Hastings (6)  Road Trip #5 Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte (5) 
Deseronto (8)  People (27)  Road Trip #6 Treasures of Tyendinaga (5) 
Disasters (2)  Quinte West (12)  Road Trip #7 Rural Belleville and Trenton (6) 
Education (4)  Railways (3)  Sports (5) 
Hastings County (41)  Religion (13)   
Industry (4)  Road Trip #1 - Villages of Centre Hastings (7)   
Go Back

GRAND TRUNK RAILWAY BELLEVILLE

The Grand Trunk was incorporated in 1853 to run from Sarnia to Portland, Maine. Although it took over existing lines, new ones had to be built, including sections of the key Toronto to Montreal line completed by the noted English engineering firm of Pat, Brassey, Jackson and Bette in 1856. The Belleville station, built about 1856, is representative of the larger stations erected by this firm for the Grant Trunk Railway. Although its design was influenced by English railway stations, it is an enduring monument to early Canadian railway enterprise.

Aussi en francais

  • Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada

GPS co-ordinates: 44° 10' 45.78" N 77° 22' 29.02" W (44.17916667 - 77.37472222)

Street address: 250 Station Street

Note: Because a luggage wagon appears to be locked in place permanently in front of the plaque, a straight-on photo of the plaque was not possible. If the wagon is moved, we'll try again.

The Grand Trunk Railway has become Canadian National. The old station in the picture, built in 1856, still stands but a functioning modern station has been built just to the east.


GRAND TRUNK RAILWAY BELLEVILLE
Information Last Updated: Wednesday September 9, 2020